Learning at Nadeen

Early Years and Foundation Stage

EYFS comprises nursery (3-4yrs) and reception (4-5yrs). Each class is run by a class teacher, supported by class assistants and helpers. We want your child’s formative years and their time at Nadeen to be safe, exciting, engaging and rewarding. Our holistic, child-centred approach to learning is always at the forefront of our teaching and learning. Through irresistible learning opportunities, in both indoor and outdoor learning areas, the children discover, explore, investigate and consolidate their developing skills and understanding through child-initiated, teacher-initiated and teacher-led activities.

We believe in the power of play!


Children learn by playing, trying, risk taking, practising and experimenting. We encourage your child to develop their imagination, to get actively involved in learning and to make decisions. Our timetables are set up to allow long periods of uninterrupted play, as this is when we know children can explore concepts at a deeper level.

The Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework sets the standards for learning, development and care for children in England.  EYFS is an integral part of the school and provides an excellent foundation from which your child can progress into a more formal learning environment as they enter the primary level of their education.

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

The Prime Areas

Communication and Language
Physical Development
Personal, Social and Emotional

As your child grows, the development of the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

Understanding of the World
Expressive Arts and Design

Age Related Expectations

The age-related expectation (ARE) documents below indicate the expected standards for where children should be by the end of the year in Maths and English, set by the National Curriculum of England. The Learning Behaviours stem from The 8 Cs, the foundation of the educational journey that our children make at Nadeen School. At times there is a slight overlap between the year groups.